Happy New Year Mamis! 2014 and I’m still breastfeeding!

Happy New Year!

2014 is here and I am still breastfeeding (I can’t believe it!). I didn’t think I’d be doing it for this long, I was certain that once meatball started solids, she’d prefer real food to mama’s milk but nope! She still loves to nurse whenever I am near, and she loves to nurse herself to sleep.

A lot of people ask me why I’m still doing it, or rather they tell me I need to stop (family members included -_-) and all I say is that I don’t have any plans on weaning my daughter. I want her to go off the boob at her own pace. Now let me just say that this is what WORKS for us and is not necessarily what everyone should do. Always assess your situation, desire and need and take it from there.

Nursing a toddler is not easy, it gets annoying and sometimes I wonder when I will get my boobs back, but for me…it’s just not something I plan to give up until she goes to college……KIDDING!!! LOL KIDDING!!!!!

Are any of you mamis still nursing past 6 months? 1 year? More? Did you wean? Why? Sound off on the comments mamis!

MUAHZZZZZ

Have a great evening πŸ™‚

Image

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year Mamis! 2014 and I’m still breastfeeding!

  1. I love this..

    I nursed Brandon for a year. Yes, it was annoying, one thing I will say is that that is one of the biggest tthings i miss about him being little. He was so attached to me amd i couldn’t do anything…he slept with me and did whatever he wanted with me pretty much lol…I am so for attachment parenting…it’s definitely not for everyone. ..people thought i was insane, but it was ok because that is how i choose to raise MY son. I really think that it’s why Brandon is the type of child he is…gentle, kind, giving and sensitive. Keep doing what you are doing for your child.

  2. Well done, lady! Your little one is blessed that you are so in tune with her needs. πŸ˜€ I weaned Samuel at 25 months old. I had a breast infection that all but forced me to wean. He would have been much happier if we’d continued but he adjusted pretty well for how attached he had been. πŸ˜‰ I wrote about some of the challenges I was facing by nursing a toddler here, if you’re interested: http://atlantamomofthree.wordpress.com/2013/09/30/weaning-samuel-the-end-of-on-demand-feedings/ I share a link in that post to an article that was very helpful to me (about setting boundaries. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment